ANS committee for Equity and Diversity -- Terms of Reference

Written: April 7th, 2017 Edited: April 13, 2017; July 5th, 2019 Ratified: October 15th, 2019.

Purpose of the Committee

1. To ensure diverse and equitable representation within the Australasian Neuroscience Society (ANS), and in particular to promote E+D balance at:

- a. The ANS Annual Scientific Meeting
- b. The ANS Annual Prize nominations and selection

2. The purpose of the committee is explained in detail in the policy document

Committee Membership

3. The Committee consists of 5-8 Members:

i. The Committee has one Chair, one Deputy Chair, and other members.

ii. Membership is for a term of two years.

iii. Members may return to the committee after two years away, although priority should be given to new members.

iv. Membership can be renewed for one term, resulting in total service of four years. v. The Chair serves for a maximum of two years, and may stay on the committee for one additional year after this term (even if this exceeds four years total) to provide continuity.

vi. The Chair may also exceed four years of membership to complete a two-year term as Chair.

vii. The Chair or Deputy Chair has a standing invitation to ANS Council meetings as a nonvoting attendee. This person brings Equity and Diversity issues to each meeting of ANS Council. E+D meetings are timetabled to precede Council meetings. viii. The committee will include at least one early career member (student or researcher within five years of receiving a PhD).

ix. The ANS council may appoint a maximum of two of the committee's eight members.

x. Openings on the committee will be advertised to ANS members, and new members will be selected among the applicants by the existing committee.

xi. The members of the committee should represent the geographical, gender, and career stage diversity of all ANS members.

Specific Member Responsibilities

4. The Chair will, in consultation with the Deputy Chair, create agendas for all Committee meetings and distribute these to Members at least five working days prior to the meeting. The Chair will chair all meetings of the Committee, ensuring all Members are afforded equal opportunity to speak and contribute to discussion and decision-making.

5. The Deputy Chair will take on the responsibilities of the Chair, and become Acting Chair through appointment by the Chair or in extenuating circumstances which prevent the Chair from fulfilling their duties.

6. In the event that the Deputy Chair is unable to fulfil the role of Acting Chair, the Chair (or Deputy Chair if necessary) will appoint a temporary acting chair from among the other committee members.

7. The Chair or the Deputy Chair will create minutes for all meetings of the Committee and distribute to all Members within a week of each meeting.

8. The committee will gather, collate, discuss, and interpret equity and diversity data from the ANS membership, including prize nominations and awards, and annual meeting speakers (plenary, Symposium speakers, Symposium chairs, invited oral speakers)

9. The committee will discuss and assist with applications for grants from external organisations to support and promote E+D activities within ANS.

Meetings

8. The quorum for a meeting of the Committee consists of the Chair or Acting Chair and at least three other Members, where all Members have been given at least seven calendar days notice of the meeting.

9. A meeting of the Committee may not proceed in the absence of the Chair or Acting Chair.

10. The Chair or Acting Chair shall, after relevant meetings of the Committee, report to the ANS Council on the conduct, status, and progress –
i. of any matters referred to the Committee by the ANS President, ANS President-elect, or the ANS Council
ii. on any other matter which the Committee agrees should be reported to the ANS Council.

Meeting Date Format

Two to four weeks prior to ANS Council meetings, four times per year

11. Current members

Ethan Scott, Chair (UQ, ethan.scott@uq.edu.au) Ruth Empson, Deputy Chair (U Otago, ruth.empson@otago.ac.nz) Karin Nordström, past Chair (Flinders Uni, Karin.nordstrom@flinders.edu.au) Sharma Jamadar (Monash Uni, sharna.jamadar@monash.edu) Raphael Ricci (UTas, raphael.ricci@utas.edu.au) Julie Atkin (Macquarie Uni, julie.atkin@mq.edu.au) Gila Moalem-Taylor (UNSW, gila@unsw.edu.au) Elisa Hill (RMIT/UMelbourne, Elisa.hill@rmit.edu.au)